An offer I couldn’t refuse

At 6.00 am in the morning, my nexus phone rings. Sleepy and grouchy I pick the phone without checking the caller id. A voice said “Am I speaking to …..” with an accent I barely understood. Frustrated I sat on my bed. Finally, the coffee was spilled and it was making sense. I had received a call from Gucci. Yes “The Gucci”. They offered me an intern position, followed by a job in their handbag designing department based on my performance. Voila … It wasn’t just the dream job they had offered but they also wanted me to move to Italy. Before I could ask anything, they said: Your tickets and your accommodation will be taken care by us, you don’t have to worry. The company offers accommodation to its employees. They requested me to confirm the date, so they could book the tickets on my behalf.

I was offered a place in the company’s staff quarter’s an old palazzo by the country side close to the main office. In addition, I was to be given a stipend during my training period. However if the job was confirmed, I would be able to draw a negotiable salary. They were starting their intern program in about two weeks and wanted my confirmation. Confirmation???? I jumped out of my bed but I could barely feel my legs when I said “Yes, Yes I will!!”

I quickly ran through the to-do list in my head. To pack my luggage, to carry my best clothes and bags… Now this was difficult, I had to decide which bags to carry and which ones to leave behind. After all I am going to work for Gucci, I will be judged on my taste and choice of handbags that I carry. OMG, I was so excited. I wanted to run to the nearest travel agency and confirm the flight to Italy.

I decided to take a step back and catch my breath. I closed my eyes and thought. So they like my passion my urge, they were disappointed that I am not qualified enough for designing handbags for them but then when you have the courage and the passion to achieve something, to make a bold statement, then nothing can stand on your way. They had seen my work online and my application, hence decided to give me a chance. I smiled. Tears flew down my cheeks. Of course I was happy. In fact I was very happy. Haven’t been this happy in years. What more could I ask for. I was interning for Gucci and if they liked my work I could be hired as a full time employee. I was flying to Italy, one of my favorite holiday destination. What more could I ask for?

And then I felt disturbed, something was not right. I was annoyed and irritated. I could feel the tears on my cheeks. I wanted this feeling to go away. Suddenly I laid there with my eyes wide open, that when it struck me it was a dream. I woke from sleep, as my alarm rang. It was another day of my life. The dream was for a few seconds, but it left me happy. That’s when I thought, no matter how our life is, pursuing a dream, wanting something, liking something is necessary. This helps us push boundaries in a quest to find and learn everyday. A hope which helps us live.If hope is lost, the essence of life is lost. It all looked easy in my dream. But that minute, I was certain, this would give me happiness and I do not know if dreams come true but I will live with a hope that someday, sometime they will…

Leave a Reply

